We live in one of the most unique places on the planet. Get outside!

Tundra swan migration on Blue Lake | Looking southeast toward Town Of Shelby

If you’re not exploring the outdoors in La Crosse County, you’re missing out. Our area is called the Driftless Area because it was missed by the great glaciers that covered this land millions of years ago, so it is an ancient landscape. Nowhere else on earth can you find deep carved river valleys, lush green islands, forested hillsides, miles of trout streams, prairies, wetlands, ice age plants, and amazing limestone bluffs and caves just like this. Every city, town and village in La Crosse County has its own unique landscapes and waterways. Go see them.

City of La Crosse

Grandad and Cliffwood Bluffs, La Crosse | Looking Northeast From Central High School City Of La Crosse | Looking North From Mississippi River Pool 8 La Crosse River Marsh | Looking West From Miller Bluff Riverside Park, La Crosse | 4th Of July From Roof Of Radisson Hotel Tundra Swans On Blue Lake | Looking East To La Crosse Sunset Over the Big Blue Bridges | La Crosse La Crosse River Marsh | Just North of Myrick Park


City of Onalaska

La Crosse River | Behind Gundersen Lutheran Clinic, Onalaska Sunset Over Greens Coulee Park Dragonfly | La Crosse River Conservancy Area


Town of Onalaska

Great River State Park Trail At Lytles Landing | Looking Northeast Across Black River To Holmen Pelicans On Lake Onalaska | Looking South/Southwest From Near Fred Funk Landing On Brice Prairie Lake Onalaska | Looking North From Dresbach Toward Brice Prairie


Village of Holmen

Halfway Creek | Small Rapids Flowing Southwest Trash Collection From Halfway Creek | Cleaning Up Shores Under Highway 35 Bridge Holmen | Halfway Creek Park and Shelter Holmen | Halfway Creek Park Dam at Halfway Creek | 1862-1957


Town of Holland

Holland Sand Prairie | Beaver Builders (Below), Dummer Grain Services (Top Left) Holland Sand Prairie | South Of Highway MH


Village of West Salem

West Salem’s Water Storage Tower | Garland Street Looking North West Towards Lakeview Health Center And The Schools The Neshonoc Hydroelectric Dam | Located Just Outside West Salem on Hwy. 16 Waterskiing On Lake Neshonoc | West Salem La Crosse River | Looking West At The West Salem Rail Bridge West Salem's Regional Stormwater Project | North of Allied Coopertive on Neshonoc Road Veterans Memorial Park | Enterance Just Off Highway 16 In West Salem Lake Neshonoc | Looking East


Town of Campbell

Nelson Park | On French Island Overlooking Lake Onalaska Town of Campbell | Looking North Toward La Crosse Airport


Town of Shelby

La Crosse | Looking Northwest (Walmart In Foreground) Goose Island Backwaters | Looking North Towards La Crosse